Contrary to my earlier post about change…..

INXS are one of my all time favourite bands.  Back in the 80’s I styled my hair to look like Michael Hutchence.  Sad, but true.  I was gutted when he died.  He was such a talented musician and a charismatic front-man (and in the 80’s I did have a wee crush on him….OK quite a big crush)

But the band have carried on and late last year released a new album “Original Sin” – a compilation of some of their biggest hits, re-recorded in a completely different way with a whole bunch of other vocalists, including Ben Harper and Rob Thomas (who I’d never heard of but he does fantastic version of the single Original Sin)

They also re-recorded a version of “Don’t Change”, which in contrast to my last post, is all about not wanting things to change.  It was one of my favourite songs (here’s more info about it and previous performances of it)  and this version is quite haunting.

Here’s the lyrics…

I’m standing here on the ground
The sky above won’t fall down
See no evil in all direction
Resolution of happiness
Things have been dark
For too long

Don’t change for you
Don’t change a thing for me

I found a love I had lost
It was gone for too long
Hear no evil in all directions
Execution of bitterness
Message received loud and clear

Don’t change for you
Don’t change a thing for me

I’m standing here on the ground
The sky above won’t fall down
See no evil in all directions
Resolution of happiness
Things have been dark
For too long

Don’t change for you
Don’t change a thing for me

Written by: Michael Hutchence , Andrew Farriss, Tim Farriss, Kirk Pengilly, Garry Gary Beers, Jon Farriss
First appeared on: Shabooh Shoobah (1982)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

